Tijdschrift voor Communicatiewetenschap

Tijdschrift voor Communicatiewetenschap

Tijdschrift voor Communicatiewetenschap is a peer-reviewed journal that focuses on documenting new trends within the field of communications science and its various subfields in the Netherlands and Flanders. The journal offers a platform to researchers interested in publishing reflections and new findings on venues of inquiry and the development of discussions within the field.

Tijdschrift voor Communicatiewetenschap

This journal is published in 4 issues per year.





Open Access

Tijdschrift voor Communicatiewetenschap is published in Delayed Open Access. All articles are freely accessible after 2 years under the following Creative Commons license: Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0).

Open Access information

dr. Lotte Willemsen, (editor-in-chief), Creating010, Rotterdam Univeristy of Applied Sciences
prof. dr. Noëlle Aarts, Wageningen University & Research
dr. Bert Bakker, University of Amsterdam
dr. Baldwin van Gorp, KU Leuven
dr. Leen d'Haenens, KU Leuven
dr. Stijn Reijnders, Erasmus University Rotterdam
dr. Hilde Van den Bulck, University of Antwerp
prof. dr. Karin Raeymaeckers, Ghent University
dr. Alexander van Deursen, University of Twente
dr. Esther Rozendaal, Erasmus University Rotterdam
dr. Annemarie Wennekers, SCP
dr. Mariek Vanden Abeele, Tilburg University
Laureanne Willems (editorial secretary), PhD candidate, University of Toronto

Editorial office

Contact the editors at: tcw@aup.nl

Tijdschrift voor Communicatiewetenschap (Lotte Willemsen)
Hogeschool Rotterdam, Creating010
Wijnhaven 107
3011 WN Rotterdam

Editorial board

dr. Leo Van Audenhove (VUB, Communicatiewetenschap)
drs. Hermineke van Bockxmeer (OCW, Directie Media, Letteren en Bibliotheken)
prof. dr. Harry Bouwman (TU Delft)
prof. dr. José van Dijck (UvA)
dr. Wim Elving (Hanzehogeschool, Centre of Expertise: Energy, Entrance)
dr. Willem Hesling (KUL, Communicatiewetenschap)
prof. dr. Carel Jansen (RUG, Communicatie- en informatiewetenschappen)
prof. dr. Jan Kleinnijenhuis (VU, Communicatiewetenschap)
drs. Coen van der Linden (School voor communicatiemanagement Utrecht, LOCO)
prof. dr. Gisela Redeker (RUG, Communicatie- en informatiewetenschappen)
em. prof. dr. Betteke van Ruler
prof. dr. Erwin Seydel (UT, Toegepaste communicatiewetenschap)
dr. Katia Segers (VUB, Communicatiewetenschap)
prof. dr. Patti Valkenburg (UvA, Communicatiewetenschap)
dr. Ben Warner (Nederlandse Gasunie)
prof. dr. Cees van Woerkum (WU, Communicatiewetenschap)
prof. dr. Liesbet van Zoonen (Loughborough University, Communication and Media Studies)

Publication Ethics & Malpractice Statement

Amsterdam University Press and this journal endorse the COPE (Committee on Publication Ethics) guidelines and will pursue cases of suspected research and publication misconduct (e.g. falsification, unethical experimentation, plagiarism, inappropriate image manipulation, redundant publication). Our full Publication Ethics and Malpractice Statement can be consulted here.

Peer Review Process

This journal uses double-blind peer review.

Indexing services

SCImago Journal Rank


Articles in this journal have Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs), which are registered with CrossRef. The DOI is a unique number that identifies a published article. The DOI provides a link to current information about that article, including where it can be found online, irrespective of any changes in the journal or publishing company website.


Print and online (2021):
Institutions €280 per year (excl. VAT)
Individuals €144 per year (incl. VAT)
Students €125 per year (incl. VAT)

Online Only (2021):
Institutions €234 per year (excl. VAT)
Individuals €122 per year (incl. VAT)
Students €73 per year (incl. VAT)

Postage costs (outside of the Netherlands) are not included.

Please contact subscriptions@aup.nl for more information or to subscribe.